Deep, deep thoughts

28 Feb

Dear Annette,

A week ago or so, I went to Dick’s with the intent of buying new Adidas slides, the kind with the hard plastic things and not the soft foam stuff, because that kind always ends up being gross and absorbing nasty things like foot sweat and river water, and then just smelling awful. However, they only had the ukky foam kind, so instead I went to look at running clothes. And for some reason, the running clothes for this upcoming spring are both highly functional and highly cute. I could literally see myself going for a jog in the shorts and a dry-fit shirt, and then going home and putting on a cute running jacket and maybe some longer running shorts, and then going to class, looking off the chain, and then going to work, changing into that amazingly transparent tanktop uniform, and then jogging home. Functional and cute.

The best part was how much they inspired me to actually start training more. They brought back nostalgic memories of old track teams and cross country adventures, how Marissa and Betsy would always try to get me to wear the skimpiest outfits ever, and how one day, when I did finally show up in short shorts and a sports bra, they thought I was playing a prank on them. I swore to myself that if I had these sweet clothes, I would run more and run faster, because I would just look so good that all of that positive energy would somehow work it’s way into my feet and propel me forwards.

I looked at the price tags, and then a reality check hit me. $55 for a pair of shorts? Yeah, right.

I then felt bitter. How dare those Nike executives put these excessive prices between me and my Olympic dream! I decided to write a blog post about a variety of insightful things based off of this experience. In it, I was going to include things like:

1. Flashy clothes don’t make the runner – the runner makes those clothes fast and impressive, because the runner is fast and has mad skills.

2. Thoughts about the Adidas slides. Something about how, while the cushy stuff is more comfortable at first, in the end, it just festers with nasty. Something about deceptive appearances, things too good to be true – you know, all of that jazz.

3. Am I still going to be a fan of bright orange, pink, and green shorts and turquoise tanks and flashy jackets when I’m older and more refined? Was it a wise investment? (As soon as I typed this rhetorical question, I immediately said to myself, well, duh. I’m Elisabeth Hieber. Am I not going to be a fan of bright orange, pink, and green shorts when I’m older and more refined?!)

However, I’m not feeling deep, insightful, or reflective today. And I realize those are all synonyms.

I mean, on a level, I sure am having those wonderful intrinsic thoughts, am carefully considering how these things would fit into my budget, and am perfectly content with the soccer shorts and old t-shirts that are relics of my previous athletic life.

 

But today, let’s be straight; I just want the clothes.

 

Here’s to keeping it real!

Elisabeth

 

P.S. – I found some sweet music recently that you might enjoy.

Chappo – Come Home

Broadcast 2000 – Get Up And Go

Your Song – Ellie Goulding

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment