Viva La Pantsuit!

17 Nov

“The Church has not attempted to indicate just how long women’s or girls’ dresses should be nor whether they should wear pant suits or other types of clothing. We have always counseled our members to be modest in their dress, maintaining such standards in connection therewith as would not be embarrassing to themselves and to their relatives, friends, and associates.”–“Statements of the LDS First Presidency: A Topical Compendium” by Gary James Bergera (with a foreword by Dale C LeCheminant).  ISBN-13: 978-1-56085-195-0.

Please read this now:

 http://www.dovesandserpents.org/wp/2011/01/why-all-mormon-women-should-wear-pants-to-church/

It occurred to me today as I was dressing to give a presentation in one of my political science classes that I felt much more professional, dressed up, respectful in my expensive pantsuit than I do in most of my dresses or skirts (although I should say that I have 1 or 2 dresses that are N-I-C-E and make me feel just as nice).  But anyways, I was pondering on the slight tragedy that if I were to wear my pantsuit to church, where we are supposed to dress in a way that shows respect to our Heavenly Parents, I would get…some very disapproving stares to say the least.  So I stick with my dresses and skirts, which are all very cute, but really now: Don’t you think nicely ironed slacks and blouse are more respectful to Heavenly Father and Heavenly Mother than a rather blase dress or skirt?

So…what do you think about wearing slacks to church?

My sister, My grandpa (in 'professional' wear for society might I add) and me. I mean, it's a nice outfit and everything.

 

But look how nice this looks? ya know? I'm just saying.

2 Responses to “Viva La Pantsuit!”

  1. Heidi November 17, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    I totally wear slacks to church. No one has ever said a word and if there have been disapproving stares, I never saw ’em.

    This was kind of a huge realization for me and it made me think, “What else do I do, not because I feel it’s right, but because I’m afraid other people will disapprove of me?”

    Also, I think I look way nicer in ironed black or grey slacks and a dress shirt than I do in a cheapish, cotton knee-length skirt with a 10 dollar t-shirt.

  2. Elisabeth Hieber November 18, 2011 at 2:13 am #

    Give me pants or give me death! Well, actually, I guess if it were a life or death situation…I would probably just suck it up and take the dress.

Leave a Reply

