Almost Blog Posts

24 Oct

I have written a bajillion “almost blog posts” the past week or so.  I get half way through, or even finish them completely, but I don’t post them.  Here are the subjects of these half-baked thoughts, just so you know what kind of things have been on my mind.  Perhaps these never quite posted-posts will be posted in the future. Who knows.  For now, I will just let them hang out in the drafts folder.

  1. How much I love Mom’s that come back to college to “finish what they started”–with their wheelie backpacks and color coded planners, and converse that they wear because their kids told them they were hip.  These ladies who call home between classes to tell their teenagers “the lasagna is in the freezer…350 for 40 min….tell dad I will late home because I have a test” I really really love these ladies.  I know few as brave (or as freakishly organized) as them.   I didn’t post this one because it was much too long and much to rambly.  It didn’t do their awesomeness justice. 

    Awesome grades? Not a problem.

  2. How much I learned from Mrs. Rhodes, the single most influential teacher I have ever had. How much I miss her.  How I will never forget the day I was curled up on the floor of the girl’s locker room of Alamogordo High School sobbing, and she came and sat right next to me, put her arm around me, and knew exactly how to comfort me even though she only know 10% of the reasons I thought I could not go on for one more second.  I didn’t post this because I also thought it was poorly organized, and didn’t do the woman justice.  And, however ‘cheesy’ it may sound, I consider that experience and that conversation a sacred one–too special and life changing to be thrown into cyber space among tales of running into walls and hating wet denim. 

    Mrs. Rhodes and Me.

  3. I wrote, and finished, and even edited a VERY long post about my complex and heartfelt thoughts about this painting by Rineke Dijksta.  I think I may have even posted it for a bit, before taking it down.  It was too personal, more appropriate for my little handwritten journal. But, I invite you all to look at it, and consider your feelings about what it is saying. 

    "The Choice"

  4. I have a post in the workings about my roommate Mary Ann.  All the reasons I am ridiculously blessed to have her.  All the ways I wish I was more like her.  All the reasons she is one of the most beautiful people I have ever known. 

    Mary Ann and I with our most prized possession.

  5. The truly maddening phenomenon of having THIS song stuck in my head for DAYS. Constantly.  I whistle it.  I walk to the beat.  I sing it in the shower against my own will. pa-pa-pa-pa-pa-papageno!
  6. The full discourse of my thoughts on the following bit of wise advice:

“Never marry someone until you have known them for all 4 seasons and a road trip”

    One Response to “Almost Blog Posts”

    1. Jessica October 25, 2010 at 2:10 am #

      I love you. That is all.

    Leave a Reply

