A Harry Potter Generation

19 Aug

I have heard my dear coworker Blake say many times “We are such a Harry Potter Generation.”

The man speaks truth.

It is crazy how much that book series has inserted itself into everyones lives…and vocabularies. For example: I was talking to a friend once who was home sick.  She was trying to explain how she was feeling–“Annette, I just feel so drained and weak. Like I can’t sit or stand up or do anything but lay in bed and wallow in despair. It is like…I am constantly surrounded by Dementors. And there is no such thing as a patronous pill!” This was an analogy I could really understand, and I felt for the poor girl. And bought her chocolate of course.

And who in the WORLD has not seen this bad boy?  Or watched some of the Harry Potter Musical? Or visited a fan site such as this in order to keep up with the news?

I have gone to every midnight release of both the movies and the books. I always dress up as a Gyffindor Quidditch fan (…because I AM a Gryffindor Quidditch fan, although I think if hadn’t misplaced my letter of acceptance to Hogwarts at the age of 11, I would have been sorted into Ravenclaw)

Arianne (who is dressed appropriately for class at Hogwarts, even though you can't see it), Me showing team spirit, and Tally in her Muggle shirt

And so, it is not too very out of the ordinary that I woke up with this unquenchable impatience for the new Harry Potter movie to come out. I can’t take the suspense! I want to start rereading the books and watching the trailer all day. Sigh. Somehow, I will be able to make it through the next 91 days 11 hours and 31 minutes until the lights dim in the movie theater and my life is completed.

Until part 2 of course.

AMAZING!

2 Responses to “A Harry Potter Generation”

  1. Katie August 19, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

    Oh my goodness! I totally know what you mean. I actually just got done with the series again just the other day… I saw the trailer for the seventh movie too many times so I had to start reading the books again. 🙂 I am so dang excited!

  2. Ariannethelibrarian August 23, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! Please say we’re going to dress up for the midnight showing again and eat severus crepes and cornelius fudge…

Leave a Reply

