A Letter on Memorial Day.

31 May

To all the fallen or wounded soldiers, past or present–

I don’t know if I will ever really be able to express my gratitude well enough, but I sure can try.

I grew up on military bases around the world. I always heard stories about you. I always was taught to honor you and what you stood for.  I lived on streets named after you.  I have met some of you.

It is your sacrifice that drives my patriotism.  I do love the beauty of the United States.  I like the diversity, I like the public transportation systems, and I like public education.  But when I put my hand over my heart and look at our nation’s flag, I am not thinking of how nice our nation’s highways are, but rather your personal sacrifices.  That is what I think of when I say I am proud to be an American.

You were so willing to give everything you could.  And it made a difference that has changed more people’s lives than can possibly be counted. You should be very proud. I know I am.

I promise to never forget.  I will have you in the back of my mind as I go to memorial day barbecues.  I’ll eat a cheeseburger for you. I will always thank God for you.  I promise to let your example be what I strive to be.

Sincerely, Annette

P.S. Keep an eye out for me while you are up there, k? Thanks.

(the letter I left at the Fallen Soldier Monument at the Provo Cemetery with a bouquet of my favorite flowers, and a yellow ribbon)

One Response to “A Letter on Memorial Day.”

  1. jddaughter June 1, 2010 at 5:58 am #

    when I was your age, me and my friend tracy went and got flowers for the exact same reason.

Leave a Reply

